Election Special: We’ve Assembled a Great Team

Movement is the act of moving change of place, position, or posture; an act or manner of moving, a series of acts and events leading toward a definite end; activities of a person or group of persons. A strong foundation is at the core of all success. Our SLO County NAACP chapter is moving from an idea to reality, and we have assembled a great team of people that are unstoppable, kind, and respectful. With the election of our local branch officers, we are now official.

Our three Area Vice Presidents, our administrative team, and committee heads highlight our 2017 “dream team.” We are passionate for the task at hand and ready to work. Meet two members of Team NAACP: Cheryl and Stephen Vines.

Stephen Vines


President: Stephen Vines

Stephen Vines

Stephen (Steve) Vines was educated at Cuesta College where he was named MVP in Tennis, at Cal Poly where he majored in Children & Family Development and minored in Military Science, and at Spring Harbor College in Michigan where he majored in Organizational Management. Steve was licensed to preach in 1994, and ordained in 2007. He attended 20 years of self-development seminars. Steve is also a Montessori trained educator. For 35 years he has been an Educational Change Activist and a preschool teacher and consultant in behavior management. Steve developed the “Interactive Discipline Management Platform,” and Vines of Life Solutions. He served as CEO of CDC Community Development Corp. in Toledo, Ohio and was a San Bernardino Acorn organizer. Steve developed the Heavens Garden project, and was active in the Christian Ministerial Training Association of Southern California. He was an EOC commissioner for SLO County, served on the 4th Board SLO County, and on the Human Relation Commission for SLO City. Steve was the founding President of the initial NAACP SLO County chapter in 1990, and was a Community Consultant for Congressman Dennis Kucinich from 2011-2012. He is Acting President of the newly reactivated NAACP SLO County, and is co-owner of Mesa Design Group, and CEO of Vines of Life Solutions.

Secretary: Cheryl Vines

Cheryl Vines

A California native, Cheryl grew up in Nipomo and has lived on the Central Coast for nearly all of her life. She enjoys spending time with family and friends, traveling, going to museums, dancing, taking walks on country roads or on the beach. Cheryl also loves architecture and interior design. Educated in interior design at UC Riverside, Cheryl is a member of the American Society of Interior Designers (ASID) and The National Association of Kitchen & Bath. In 2008 Cheryl, along with her husband, founded Mesa Design Group (MDG), a full-service interior and landscape design firm. Her Tag Line is: “Dreams and Ideas Brought to Life.” Cheryl’s accomplishments include, Best of the Show 2016 Spring Show Inspired Home & Garden, Interior designer for the renovation of Valley View Adventist Academy, Arroyo Grande, Project Manager/Interior Designer for the renovation of The Ronald McDonald House in Loma Linda, ASID Presidential Citation for four consecutive years. Cheryl served on the advisory boards for Westwood College, Upland, and The Art Institute, San Bernardino Campus, and has been active in her community and a voice for Civil Rights since the 1960s. She is a charter member and founding member of the NAACP San Luis Obispo County chapter. Cheryl said: “My vision for NAACP SLO County is to bring awareness and to be a voice for civil and human rights. As secretary, I will work to make San Luis Obispo County a better place for all people. I will be honored to serve on the Executive Committee and to be your advocate. I will make sure that our branch is run smoothly and your concerns are addressed in a timely matter.

Full Executive Committee Member List:

Stephen Vines: President

Cheryl Vines: Secretary

Barbara Levenson: Assistant Secretary

Dwight Gray: Treasurer

Tim Jouet: Assistant Treasurer

Preston Allen: Acting South County VP

Mark Buchman: Second VP & VP San Luis Obispo

Steve McDermott: First VP & VP North Coastal

[OPEN]: VP North County

Harvey Levenson: Director Communications

Leona Evans: Rel. Affairs Chair

Matthew Evans: College Chair

Scott Mann: Political Affairs Co-Chair

Clint Weirick: Political Affairs Co-Chair

Roxanne Perez: Legal Redress Chair

Jenni Schroeder: Membership Chair

Barry Price: Criminal Justice Chair

TeaEster Higgins: Health Co-Chair

Mark Skinner: Health Co-Chair

Mary Bonaventure: Events Chair (at large)

Rachel Duchak: Web & Comm. (at large)

Patricia Gordon: North Coastal Membership Captain